Latest

Alternate coaches

Suppose a head coach designates her assistant to be the head coach during parts of a game. But only one is coaching at a time. What is the proper ruling? Is this allowed?

Go there ⇒

Not allowing substitute in

We had an inadvertent whistle by one of the officials in a tied game and the team had their best player at the table to go in. We did not allow for the sub since it was our mistake and having the player in could affect the outcome of the game and he wouldn’t have been in the game. What is the proper way to handle this situation?

Go there ⇒

Switches in two person mechanics

The Officials’ Manual states that for a 2 person crew officials should switch on ALL non shooting fouls. I have interpreted this ALL to include fouls in the back court or player control or team control fouls in the front court going the other way, since the manual does not list exceptions.

Go there ⇒

Reset on a free throw

While shooting a foul shot, and the ball already being administered to the shooter, the table has blown the horn before the shot, disrupting the game, and the rhythm of the shooter. How should this situation be handled?

Go there ⇒

Handchecking

The new handchecking rule came up in our local association meeting last night and there was debate on when this rule applies. Many thought it applies to the dribbler on the perimeter but not the post player. Others thought it applied to the post player only when they turn to face the basket. But, when reading the case book 10.6.12 Situation B, it seems there is no distinction between a post player with their back to the basket or facing the basket, the new handchecking rule should apply.

Go there ⇒

Free throw violation

After the release of a free throw, defender B1 moves into the lane from a marked lane space. B1 then moves to “box out” the free throw shooter, crossing the free throw line in the process.

Go there ⇒

Uniform colors

Under 3-5-4, regarding wristbands and headwear. This rule also changed from white, black, beige or a single school color (2013-14) to white, black, beige or the predominant color of the uniform. Are we allowing wristbands and headwear to be a single school color as well? So as an example: A school whose colors are green and gold wears a white uniform, green arm sleeves, gold wristbands as the home team. Is this legal?

Go there ⇒

Spot for throw-in

A1 has a spot throw-in on the end line and passes the ball to A2 who is standing on the side line when he/she catches the ball. Where is the ensuing throw-in?

Go there ⇒

Contact by an individual defender

With the new emphasis on contact on/by the ball handler, is each individual defender permitted one “hot shove” touch or is it only one measure up per defensive team on a ball handler? For example: a double team or if a team is playing zone and the ball handler has a defensive switch on him/her.

Go there ⇒

Leg Compression Sleeves

I had a boys varsity game where the players had sleeves on their legs with the “turtle-shell” padding. The sleeves were not all the same color, i.e., one was black, another white, another blue. Prior to the start of the game, the players wore the sleeves down around their calves. The players were instructed that […]

Go there ⇒

Length of pregame warm up

Team A (Home) wants to use 15 minutes for the pregame warm up time prior to varsity game. Team B (Visitors) objects, saying it needs a 20 minute warm up period. Is the Home Team permitted to use a 15 minute pregame warm up time period if it chooses? Do both teams need to agree; […]

Go there ⇒

Intentional foul?

A1 has the ball above the 3 point arc and is being closely guarded by B1. B1 reaches in, making a play on the ball, but catches A1 across the nose with his hand. The officials call it a common foul, but the coach of the offending team tells his players that it is an […]

Go there ⇒

Double Dribble?

Suppose the following play occurs: Post player catches the ball on the block. He has his pivot foot planted and drops steps with the other foot to make a “power move” to the basket. In making this “power move”, he pushes the ball to the floor with BOTH hands as a dribble. This is considered […]

Go there ⇒

Faking excessive contact

A1 swings his elbow in the direction of B1. B1 goes down holding his face like contact was made. One of the officials has an Intentional Foul, but his partner comes in and has definite knowledge that there was no contact made, and B1 flopped. Do we have the authority to take away the Intentional […]

Go there ⇒

Lead mechanic for counts

The 2013-15 Preseason Mechanics Guide published by Referee Magazine, p.14, “Lead Counts,” it states that the LEAD is to signal a closely guarded count. I have been taught NOT to give closely guarded count as the LEAD. What does OHSAA want? Disregard the directive on pg 14. The trail or center will be responsible for […]

Go there ⇒

Case Book Clarification: 8.2 Situation B

In a recent study on another topic, some confusion has been created concerning this Case Book play (below) and the obvious contradiction with the Rule reference given at the end of the ruling (3-3-4). Has something been omitted (an exception) or further clarification needed at either one (or both) of these locations – Rule and […]

Go there ⇒