Case Book Clarification: 8.2 Situation B

By Dennis Morris

In a recent study on another topic, some confusion has been created concerning this Case Book play (below) and the obvious contradiction with the Rule reference given at the end of the ruling (3-3-4). Has something been omitted (an exception) or further clarification needed at either one (or both) of these locations – Rule and Case Book??

A1 is fouled and will be shooting two free throws. After A1’s first free-throw attempt, B6 (Team B’s only remaining eligible substitute) replaces B2. A1’s second free-throw attempt is unsuccessful. During rebounding action for A1’s missed second free-throw attempt, and before the clock starts, A1 pushes B3 in the back causing B3 to roll an ankle. Team B is in the bonus. B3 is unable to immediately continue playing. Team B requests and is granted a time out in order to allow B3 to recover from the ankle injury so as to remain in the game. B3 is still not able to play after the time out has ended.

RULING: B2 may return to the game and replace B3 and shoot B3’s free throw attempts despite having been replaced since he/she is the only available substitute. (3-3-4)

The ruling is correct in this case book play, although I agree the 3-3-4 reference doesn’t support the ruling. Take a look at CB 3.1.1. The intent to use five players, if available, would trump the substitution rule in the case you cited. The sub would have to attempt the FT’s just as in any other case where a sub replaces an injured player who is entitled to FT’s.