Double Dribble?

By Dennis Morris

Suppose the following play occurs:

  1. Post player catches the ball on the block.
  2. He has his pivot foot planted and drops steps with the other foot to make a “power move” to the basket.
  3. In making this “power move”, he pushes the ball to the floor with BOTH hands as a dribble.
  4. This is considered a double dribble. However, where is it stated that he can’t use two hands?

There is nothing illegal about starting the dribble with both hands as indicated in 4-15-1. So the power move as described is legal. However, you cannot continue to dribble with both hands because by definition, the dribble ends if dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands 4-15-4-c and this would constitute double dribble.