Intentional foul?

By Dennis Morris

A1 has the ball above the 3 point arc and is being closely guarded by B1. B1 reaches in, making a play on the ball, but catches A1 across the nose with his hand. The officials call it a common foul, but the coach of the offending team tells his players that it is an intentional foul.

This was correctly ruled a common foul. The same would be true if some contact was made with head/face on a legitimate attempt to block a shot. It could be intentional if deemed excessive. The point of emphasis has to do with contact by swinging elbows above the shoulders .