Reset on a free throw

By Dennis Morris

While shooting a foul shot, and the ball already being administered to the shooter, the table has blown the horn before the shot, disrupting the game, and the rhythm of the shooter. How should this situation be handled?

The intent of the rule is not to penalize a FT shooter for an errant horn. 4-36-2-b would support the notion that you get the issue cleared up at the scorer’s table and then re-administer the entitled FT. Note: I would NOT allow a sub to enter if that is the reason for the horn. I believe common sense would also support this interpretation of a “re-set.”