2013-14 Quiz 4

By Dennis Morris

This is Quiz 4 of the 2013-14 baseketball season. Click here to view a PDF of the quiz along with the answers.

1. A1 commits his/her 5th personal foul. The reporting official notifies the coach of Team A that he needs to send in a substitute for A1. While waiting for a sub, B2 shoots and makes the first of two free throws. Team A coach now argues that the free throw by B2, should not count since team A did not have five legal players in the game. He argues that we should put in a legal player and re-shoot the free throw. What do we do now?

2. A1 is charged with his/her 5th personal foul. The calling official is notified by the table that it is A1’s 5th foul. The official notifies the Team A coach of the 5th foul, and heads toward A1 to notify him. (a) Before notifying A1 or (b) after notifying A1 of the 5thpersonal foul, A1 tells the official that the call was #$%& horrible. What do we do now?

3. A1’s throw-in or pass is beyond A2. (a) A2 reaches out and slaps the ball towards A’s basket; or (b) A2 muffs the pass. In both situations A2 then gains control of the ball, dribbles the ball toward the basket and scores. Team B’s coach is quite miffed.

4. A timeout may be granted during which of the following?

(a) An interrupted dribble
(b) When an airborne player’s momentum is carrying him out-of-bounds
(c) When an airborne player’s momentum is carrying him into the back court
(d) During a pass between teammates
(e) After the throw-in starts following a goal if called by the throw-in team
(f) After the throw-in starts following a made goal if called by the opponents of the throw-in team